Appendix D

Legislation resulting from bills introduced by backbench women MPs

Session Member presenting the Bill	Title of Act
1923 Viscountess Astor	Intoxicating Liquor (Sale to Persons under Eighteen) Act 1923
1927 Mrs Mabel Philipson	Nursing Homes Registration Act 1927
1928-29 Miss Susan Lawrence	Bastardy (Witness Process) Act 1929
1929-30 Duchess Of Atholl	Illegitimate Children (Scotland) Act 1930
1931-32 Miss Edith Picton-Turbevill	Sentence of Death (Expectant Mothers) Act 1931
1936-37 Miss Florence Horsburgh	Methylated Spirits (Sale by Retail)
1937-38 Miss Ellen Wilkinson	Hire Purchase Act 1938
1937-38 Miss Irene Ward	Poor Law (Amendment) Act 1938
1938-39 Miss Florence Horsburgh	Adoption of Children (Regulation) Act 1939
1950-51 Mrs Barbara Castle	Criminal Law Amendment Act 1951
1951-52 Miss Elaine Burton	Disposal of Uncollected Goods Act 1952
1953-54 Lady Davidson	Protection of Animals (Anaesthetics) Act 1954
1953-54 Lady Tweedsmuir	Protection of Birds Act 1954
1953-54 Miss Irene Ward	Rights of Entry (Gas and Electricity Boards) Act 1954
1957-58 Miss Irene Pike	Drainage Rates Act 1958
1959-60 Mrs Margaret Thatcher	Public Bodies (Admission to Meetings) Act 1960
1960-61 Dame Irene Ward	Nurses (Amendment) Act 1961
1961-62 Dame Irene Ward	Penalties for Drunkenness Act 1962
1962-63 Mrs Patricia McLaughlin	Public Lavatories (Turnstiles) Act 1963
1963-64 Miss Betty Harvie Anderson	Animals (Restriction of Importation) Act 1964
1963-64 Dame Patricia Hornsby-Smith	Nurses Act 1964
1963-64 Miss Joan Vickers	Young Persons (Employment) Act 1964
1964-65 Mrs Lena Jeger	British Nationality Act 1965
1966-67 Mrs Joyce Butler	Farm and Garden Chemicals Act 1967
1967-68 Mrs Jill Knight (Later Dame)	Design Copyright Act 1968
1968-69 Rt Hon Margaret Herbison	Licensing (Scotland) Act 1969
1971-72 Dame Joan Vickers	Affiliation Proceedings (Amendment) Act 1972
1975-76 Jo Richardson	Domestic Violence and Matrimonial Proceedings Act 1976
1983-84 Mrs Elizabeth Peacock	Road Traffic (Driving Instruction) Act 1984
1984-85 Miss Janet Fookes (Later Dame)	Sexual Offences Act 1985
1984-85 Mrs Marion Roe	Prohibition of Female Circumcision Act 1985
1988-89 Joan Ruddock	Control of Pollution (Amendment) Act 1989
1988-89 Dame Janet Fookes DBE	Dangerous Dogs Act 1989
1991-92 Mrs Rosie Barnes	Still-Birth (Definition) Act 1992
1994-95 Mrs Diana Maddock	Home Energy Conservation Act 1995
1994-95 Lady Olga Maitland	Prisoners (Return to Custody) Act 1995

Session Member presenting the Bill Title of Act

1995-96 Ms Estelle Morris	Public Order (Amendment) Act 1996
1995-96 Lady Olga Maitland	Offensive Weapons Act 1996
1997-98 Dr Lynda Clarke QC	Registered Establishments (Scotland) Act 1998
1997-98 Angela Smith	Waste Minimisation Act 1998
1998-99 Debra Shipley	Protection of Children Act 1999
1999-00 Mrs Claire Curtis-Thomas	Protection of Animals (Amendment) Act 2000
2001-02 Rachel Squire	Copyright (Visually Impaired Persons) Act
	2002
2002-03 Joan Ruddock	Household Waste and Recycling Act 2003
2002-03 Ann Clwyd	Female Genital Mutilation Act 2003
2007-08 Sharon Hodgson	Special Educational Needs (information) Act
	2008
2009-10 Julie Morgan	Sunbeds (Regulation) Act 2010