

Conservative hereditary peers' by-election, October 2022: result

In the by-election following the retirement of Lord Astor of Hever and the death of the Earl of Home 37 valid votes were cast. The excepted hereditary peers belonging to the Conservative group who had taken the oath or made the affirmation to King Charles III by 13 October 2022, 41 in total, were eligible to vote.

The successful candidates were the Earl of Effingham and Lord Ashcombe.

Overleaf are details of the votes cast for each candidate. As more than one candidate was to be elected, the single transferable vote (STV) system was used for this by-election.

Note on the voting system

- The election was conducted using the single transferable vote system (also known as preferential voting).
- Under this system, voters rank in order as many candidates as they wish.
- Initially only first-preference votes are counted.
- To be elected a candidate must secure the required number of votes, which is calculated at each stage by dividing the total number of valid votes by one more than the number to be elected.
- If no candidate reaches the required number of votes, the candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and their votes are transferred to the next preferred candidate marked on each ballot.
- Once the first successful candidate has been elected, surplus votes are then transferred to other candidates proportionally, based on the next indicated choice on all the ballots assigned to that candidate.
- If no candidate has the number of votes required to be elected, the process for transferring votes is then repeated.
- Any ballot on which no further preference is marked is non-transferable.

The poll was conducted using electronic means and the count was conducted by Civica Election Services.

24 October 2022

SIMON BURTON Clerk of the Parliaments

Distribution of votes

Candidates Abergavenny, M.	First Preferences	Stage 2 Exclusion of Windlesham, L., Rossmore, L., Biddulph, L., Balfour, E., Ashbourne, L., Baillieu, L., Glendyne, L., Ironside, L., Napier and Ettrick, L., Elibank, L, Dormer, L., Dudley, E., Rowallan L.		Stage 3 Exclusion of Eglinton and Winton, E.		Stage 4 Exclusion of Limerick, E. (L. Foxford)		Stage 5 Exclusion of Abergavenny, M. Bristol, M.		Stage 6	6	Result
										Surplus of Effingham, E. ¹		
			4		4	I	5	-5	-		-	
Ashbourne, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Ashcombe, L.	10		10		10		10	I	11	3	14	Elected
Baillieu, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Balfour, E.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Biddulph, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Bristol, M.	3		3	I	4		4	-4	-		-	
Dormer, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Dudley, E.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Effingham, E.	6	2	8	I	9		9	6	15	-3	12	Elected
Eglinton and Winton, E.	2		2	-2	-		-		-		-	
Elibank, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Glendyne, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Hazlerigg, L.	8		8		8	I	9	I	10		10	
Ironside, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Limerick, E. (L. Foxford)	2		2		2	-2	-		-		-	
Napier and Ettrick, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Rossmore, L.	I	-1	-		-		-		-		-	
Rowallan, L.	0		-		-		-		-		-	
Windlesham, L.	I	-1	-		-		-		-		-	
Non-transferable			0		0		0	I	I		I	
Totals	37		37		37		37		37		37	

¹ The number of votes required for election at Stage 5 was 36/3, or 12 votes. The Earl of Effingham was accordingly elected at stage 5, and his surplus votes (3 votes) were redistributed to the remaining candidates proportionally, on the basis of the next indicated choice on all the ballots assigned to the Earl of Effingham at this stage.