

Conservative hereditary peers' by-election, July 2022: result

In the by-election following the retirement of Lord Brabazon of Tara and the death of Lord Swinfen 41 valid votes were cast. All excepted hereditary peers belonging to the Conservative group, 45 in total, were eligible to vote.

The successful candidates were Lord Remnant and Lord Wrottesley.

Overleaf are details of the votes cast for each candidate. As more than one candidate was to be elected, the single transferable vote (STV) system was used for this by-election.

Note on the voting system

- The election was conducted using the single transferable vote system (also known as preferential voting).
- Under this system, voters rank in order as many candidates as they wish.
- Initially only first-preference votes are counted.
- To be elected a candidate must secure the required number of votes, which is calculated at each stage by dividing the total number of valid votes by one more than the number to be elected.
- If no candidate reaches the required number of votes, the candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and their votes are transferred to the next preferred candidate marked on each ballot.
- Once the first successful candidate has been elected, surplus votes are then transferred to other candidates proportionally, based on the next indicated choice on all the ballots assigned to that candidate.
- If no candidate has the number of votes required to be elected, the process for transferring votes is then repeated.
- Any ballot on which no further preference is marked is non-transferable.

The poll was conducted using electronic means and the count was conducted by Civica Election Services (formerly Electoral Reform Services).

6 July 2022

SIMON BURTON
Clerk of the Parliaments

Distribution of votes

Candidates Ashbourne, L.	First Preferences	Stage 2 Surplus of Remnant, L. I		Stage 3 Exclusion of Baillieu, L.; Biddulph, L.; Dudley, E.		Stage 4 Exclusion of Elibank, L.		Stage 5 Exclusion of Limerick, E. (L. Foxford); Ashbourne, L.; Balfour, E.; Windlesham, L.; Dormer, L.		Result
		Ashcombe, L.	7	2.96	9.96		9.96		9.96	2.11
Baillieu, L.	0		0		-		-		-	
Balfour, E.	I	0.37	1.37		1.37		1.37	-1.37	-	
Biddulph, L.	0		0		-		-		-	
Dormer, L.	I		I		I		1	-I	-	
Dudley, E.	0		0		-		-		-	
Elibank, L.	I		1		I	-1	-		-	
Limerick, E. (L. Foxford)	1	1.85	2.85		2.85		2.85	-2.85	-	
Remnant, L.	22	-8.33	13.67		13.67		13.67		13.67	Elected
Windlesham, L.	I		1		I		1	-1	-	
Wrottesley, L.	5	2.59	7.59		7.59	ı	8.59	3.74	12.33	Elected
Non-transferable		0.19	0.19		0.19		0.19	2.74	2.93	
Totals	41		41		41		41		41	

¹ The number of votes required for election in the first round was 41/3, or 13.66 votes. Lord Remnant was accordingly elected after the first round, and his surplus votes (amounting to 8.33 votes) were redistributed to other candidates proportionally, on the basis of all second preferences expressed by those who had named Lord Remnant as their first preference.