

## Hereditary peers' by-election, October 2022: result

In the by-election following the retirements of Lord Colwyn and Viscount Ullswater 190 valid votes were cast. All members of the House of Lords who had taken the oath of allegiance or made the solemn affirmation to King Charles III by 13 October 2022 and were not on leave of absence, disqualified or suspended from the service of the House, were eligible to vote.

The successful candidates were Lord Roborough and the Earl of Minto.

On the following pages are details of the votes cast for each candidate. As more than one candidate was to be elected, the single transferable vote (STV) system was used for this by-election.

## Note on the voting system

- The election was conducted using the single transferable vote system (also known as preferential voting).
- Under this system, voters rank in order as many candidates as they wish.
- Initially only first-preference votes are counted.
- To be elected a candidate must secure the required number of votes, which is calculated at each stage by dividing the total number of valid votes by one more than the number to be elected.
- If no candidate reaches the required number of votes, the candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated and their votes are transferred to the next preferred candidate marked on each ballot.
- Once the first successful candidate has been elected, surplus votes are then transferred to other candidates proportionally, based on the next indicated choice on all the ballots assigned to that candidate.
- If no candidate has the number of votes required to be elected, the process for transferring votes is then repeated.
- Any ballot on which no further preference is marked is non-transferable.

The poll was conducted using electronic means and the count was conducted by Civica Election Services.

19 October 2022

SIMON BURTON Clerk of the Parliaments

## Distribution of votes

Candidates	First preferences	Stage 2	Stag	Stage 3  Exclusion of Elibank, L.		Exclusion of Ironside, L. Dormer, L.		Exclusion of Napier and Ettrick, L.		Stage 6  Exclusion of Rowallan, L.	
		Exclusion of Glendyne, L. Eglinton and Winton, E.	Eliba								
Abergavenny, M.	4	4		4		4		4	1	5	
Ashbourne, L.	3	3		3		3		3		3	
Ashcombe, L.	18	18		18		18		18	1	19	
Baillieu, L.	7	7	1	8		8		8		8	
Balfour, E.	8	8		8		8		8		8	
Bristol, M.	6	6		6		6		6		6	
Dormer, L.	1	1		1	-1	-		-		-	
Dudley, E.	4	4		4		4		4		4	
Effingham, E.	13	13		13		13	1	14		14	
Eglinton And Winton, E.	0	-		-		-		-		-	
Elibank, L.	1	1	-1	-		-		-		-	
Glendyne, L.	0	-		-		-		-		-	
Hazlerigg, L.	21	21		21	1	22		22		22	
Ironside, L.	1	1		1	-1	-		-		-	
Limerick, E.	6	6		6		6		6		6	
Minto, E.	31	31		31		31		31		31	
Napier And Ettrick, L.	2	2		2		2	-2	-		-	
Roborough, L.	36	36		36		36		36		36	
Rossmore, L	13	13		13	1	14		14		14	
Rowallan, L.	2	2		2		2	1	3	-3	-	
Windlesham, L.	13	13		13		13		13	1	14	
Non-transferable		0		0		0		0		0	
Totals	190	19	0	190		190		190		190	

Candidates	Stage 7 Exclusion of Ashbourne, L.		Stage	Stage 8  Exclusion of Dudley, E.		Stage 9 Exclusion of Abergavenny, M.		Stage 10 Exclusion of Bristol, M.		Stage 11  Exclusion of Limerick, E.		Stage 12 Exclusion of Balfour, E.	
Abergavenny, M.		5		5	-5	-		-		-		-	
Ashbourne, L.	-3	-		-		-		-		-		-	
Ashcombe, L.		19		19	2	21		21		21		21	
Baillieu, L.	1	9		9		9	1	10		10	2	12	
Balfour, E.		8		8		8		8		8	-8	-	
Bristol, M.	1	7		7		7	-7	-		-		-	
Dormer, L.		-		-		-		-		-		-	
Dudley, E.		4	-4	-		-		-		-		-	
Effingham, E.		14		14	1	15	1	16		16	1	17	
Eglinton And Winton, E.		-		-		-		-		-		-	
Elibank, L.		-		-		-		-		-		-	
Glendyne, L.		-		-		-		-		-		-	
Hazlerigg, L.		22		22	1	23	1	24		24		24	
Ironside, L.		-		-		-		-		-		-	
Limerick, E.	1	7		7		7		7	-7	-		-	
Minto, E.		31		31		31		31	1	32	2	34	
Napier And Ettrick, L.		-		-		-		-		-		-	
Roborough, L.		36		36		36	1	37		37	1	38	
Rossmore, L		14		14		14	1	15	1	16		16	
Rowallan, L.		-		-		-		-		-		-	
Windlesham, L.		14		14		14	1	15	2	17	1	18	
Non-transferable		0	4	4	1	5	1	6	3	9	1	10	
Totals		190		190		190		190		190		190	

Candidates	Stage 13  Exclusion of Baillieu, L.		Stage 1	Stage 14 Exclusion of Rossmore, L		Stag 15 Exclusion of Effingham, E.		Stage 16  Exclusion of Windlesham, L.		Stage 17 Exclusion of Ashcombe, L.	
Abergavenny, M.		-		-		-		-		-	_
Ashbourne, L.		-		-		-		-		-	
Ashcombe, L.		21	1	22	4	26	2	28	-28	-	
Baillieu, L.	-12	-		-		-		-		-	
Balfour, E.		-		-		-		-		-	
Bristol, M.		-		-		-		-		-	
Dormer, L.		-		-		-		-		-	
Dudley, E.		-		-		-		-		-	
Effingham, E.	1	18	3	21	-21	-		-		-	
Eglinton And Winton, E.		-		-		-		-		-	
Elibank, L.		-		-		-		-		-	
Glendyne, L.		-		-		-		-		-	
Hazlerigg, L.	1	25	2	27	2	29	3	32	4	36	
Ironside, L.		-		-		-		-		-	
Limerick, E.		-		-		-		-		-	
Minto, E.	1	35	3	38	4	42	2	44	7	51	Elected
Napier And Ettrick, L.		-		-		-		-		-	
Roborough, L.		38	1	39	6	45	1	46	12	58	Elected
Rossmore, L	1	17	-17	-		-		-		-	
Rowallan, L.		-		-		-		-		-	
Windlesham, L.	3	21	1	22		22	-22	-		-	
Non-transferable	5	15	6	21	5	26	14	40	5	45	
Totals		190	_	190		190		190		190	