

NOTICE

22 May 2023

# Hereditary peers' by-election

This notice confirms the arrangements for the by-election following the retirement of Viscount Falkland on 21 March 2023.

# Electors

Viscount Falkland was one of the 15 hereditary peers elected by the whole House in 1999 from among those ready to serve as Deputy Speakers. Under Standing Order 9(3), his successor will therefore be elected by the whole House, although there is no expectation that they will serve as a Deputy Speaker.

Viscount Falkland was originally elected as a Liberal Democrat, and, in accordance with an informal agreement between the parties and groups in the House of Lords, <u>it is expected</u> that his successor will sit as a Liberal Democrat member of the House.

All members of the House who have taken the oath of allegiance or made the solemn affirmation to King Charles III on or before 9 June will be eligible to vote, except those who are subject to statutory disqualification; suspended from the service of the House; or on leave of absence.

# Candidates

Those eligible to be candidates are hereditary peers on the register maintained by the Clerk of the Parliaments.

The deadline for registration of candidature was 5pm on Monday 15 May. Three candidates registered to stand in this by-election; a list is on page 3. Candidates were invited but not required to submit a written statement of up to 75 words; those statements are on page 3.

# Voting timetable

This by-election will be conducted using electronic means.

An email containing full voting instructions and link to the online voting website will be sent to the parliamentary email address of each member eligible to vote around 8am on Monday 12 June from <u>takepart@cesvotes.com</u>. The subject line will be: "Falkland by-election – voting link." The email will contain instructions on how votes can be cast online in this election. Members will be instructed to click on a link in the email which will

direct them to a login page for the secure website. Members can then click through to the voting page where details of the candidates standing in the election are available.

Once the Member has made their selection, they will be asked to confirm their votes before submission.

Voting will take place online from 10am on Monday 12 June until 5pm on Tuesday 13 June. It is expected that the result will be announced in the Chamber on Wednesday 14 June.

No electors registered for postal votes so no ballot papers will be sent by post for this by-election.

## Voting system

The by-election will be conducted via a secret ballot. The Alternative Vote system will be used.

Voters will place the name of the candidate they most strongly support at the top of the digital ballot paper, then place their next most favoured candidate below, and so on. Voters may cast as many or as few votes as they wish. In order to be elected, the successful candidate must receive at least as many votes as all the other candidates put together. In the event of this not happening after first preference votes have been allocated, the votes of the candidates receiving the lowest number of first preference votes will be shared out according to the second preference marked on them. This will be repeated until one candidate has at least half of the total valid votes.

#### Results

The electronic count will be overseen by Civica Election Services.

The result will be announced in the House of Lords Chamber by the Clerk of the Parliaments at a convenient moment (likely to be after oral questions) on Wednesday 14 June.

The full results, including the number of first-preference votes cast for each candidate and the position after each transfer of votes, will be available in the Printed Paper Office and the Library soon after the announcement by the Clerk of the Parliaments. The results will also be published online at <u>www.parliament.uk</u>.

22 May 2023

SIMON BURTON Clerk of the Parliaments

# List of candidates

Belhaven and Stenton, L. (Liberal Democrat)

Lloyd-George of Dwyfor, E. (Liberal Democrat)

Russell, E. (Liberal Democrat)

## **Candidature statements**

#### Belhaven and Stenton, L. (Liberal Democrat)

I support individual freedom, equality, social justice, environmental and agricultural sustainability/protection, a market economy with strong government regulation, active engagement with the EU, free trade without tariff barriers. Banning conversion therapy.

50 years' business experience in insurance, outsourcing, speech recognition and AI technology. 20 years working alongside NHS services and procurement.

Strong interest in improving healthcare and social care provision, trade liberalisation, sustainable immigration management & human rights, taxation reform, incentivising business productivity.

#### Lloyd-George of Dwyfor, E. (Liberal Democrat)

Since my early years I have had a keen and personal interest in politics, espoused with the traditions and beliefs of a liberal. My working life started aged 19 in shipping, finishing in political risk insurance. Should I be elected, I would undertake to be a regular attender and to devote my maximum time and efforts to the Liberal Democrats and to the business of the House.

#### Russell, E. (Liberal Democrat)

I have been active in the Liberal Democrat Party as a Parliamentary and London Assembly candidate, a London Borough Councillor and campaign manager.

As a professional photographer specialising in political events and conferences, charities and landscapes my work is much used on social media and has been exhibited.

I am committed to work in the House with my experience of local government and knowledge of environmental issues and international relations.